The Arizona Democratic Party Calls on Democrats Nationwide to Support the Winner of the Democratic Primary to Replace Kyrsten Sinema in 2024

WHEREAS, Kyrsten Sinema has left the Democratic Party, despite the tremendous efforts of the Arizona Democratic Party and Democrats nationwide to elect her to the US Senate in 2018;

WHEREAS Kyrsten Sinema has obstructed the Democratic Party agenda, refusing to reform the minority veto filibuster and blocking urgent and popular legislation including voting rights protections and democracy reform, codifying Roe v Wade, a \$15 minimum wage, Medicare expansion, broad prescription drug price negotiation, a path to citizenship for Dreamers and immigrant families, LGBTQ+ equality, labor rights protections, sufficient climate action and clean energy funding, universal pre-K, paid family leave, universal background checks, an assault weapons ban, free community college, and more, all while ignoring and enabling the extremist MAGA Republican assault on our democracy, leading to her censure by the Arizona Democratic Party;

WHEREAS Kyrsten Sinema has consistently put the interests of her corporate and billionaire class donors first while betraying the working class, low-income, immigrant, and vulnerable Democrats who voted most heavily in her favor and most urgently needed her support;

WHEREAS reputable polls consistently show that the vast majority of Arizona Democrats and Democrat-leaning Independents do not approve of Kyrsten Sinema and would prefer a Democrat who backs ending the filibuster over her;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Arizona Democratic Party does hereby declare and affirm our commitment to support the winner of the 2024 Arizona Democratic primary for the United States Senate to replace Kyrsten Sinema;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Arizona Democratic Party does hereby call upon Democrats nationwide at every level, from grassroots activists and small donors to national party leaders, members of Congress and the Biden administration, large donors, and campaign and political institutions to pledge to support the winner of the Arizona Democratic primary for the United States Senate in 2024;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Arizona Democratic Party Chair or an assigned staff member shall transmit this Resolution via letter to President Biden, Vice President Kamala Harris, Majority Leader Chuck Schumer, all members of the Senate Democratic caucus, House Democratic leadership, Democratic National Committee Chair Jamie Harrison, and Democratic Senate Campaign Committee Chair Gary Peters, and via press release to both Arizona and National media outlets within 10 days of approval by the State Committee.

Submitted by:

Paul Eckerstrom, First Vice Chair LD 20
April Ignacio, Vice Chair, LD 23
Deydrek Scott, Vice Chair, LD 6
Brianna Westbrook, Vice Chair, LD 5
Lupe Conchas, Vice Chair, LD 26
Shanna Leonard, Vice Chair, LD 18
Will Knight, Vice Chair, LD 26
Llama Halbern, Educational Coordinator, LD 1

Crystal Carrillo, Chair of LD 26

Paula Van Derven, First Vice Chair LD26

Angela Buer, Chair of LD 9

Melissa Galarza, Chair of LD 12

Sherri Johnson, First Vice Chair, LD 12

Susie Thornton, Secretary, LD 12

Cody Newcomb, Chair, LD 13

Iain Hamp, LD 10

Dan O'Neal, LD 14

Paul Stapleton Smith, LD 20

Jenise Porter, LD 18

Kyle Nitschke, LD 7

Jana Ochs, LD 13

Ann Heitland, LD 6

Patti Serrano, LD 13

Kitty Kennedy, LD 17

Dawn Schackner, LD 6

Marie Sansone, LD 7

Marilyn Weissman, LD 6

Bobby Bauders, LD 7

Eric Kramer, LD 7

Lori Cinnamond, LD 18

Laura Huenneke, LD 6

Mike Fogel, LD 1

Elizabeth Putnam-Hidalgo, LD 20

Eve Shapiro, LD 18

Maria G. Hidalgo, LD18

Angela Buer, Chair of LD9

Mary Keerins, LD18

Beth Mitchneck, LD20

Tom Prezelski, LD20

Tearanie Chinn, LD14

Leslie Stalc, LD20

Matthew Boyd, LD18

Helen Boyd, LD18

Gail Kamaras, LD18

Bradley Reece, LD 9

Carol Schloff, LD16

Daniel Schoff, LD16

Jenni Pagano, LD18

Sue Anderson, LD17

Tim Kosse, LD17